- Court Procedure and Attorneys in DUI Cases
- Do I need an attorney?
- What to look for in an attorney
- How much does an attorney charge for drunk driving?
- I didn't get a ticket. What now?
- Should I accept an impaired?
- An overview of probation: the consequences of a plea
- What is "discovery" in drunk driving cases?
- Drunk driving: Bench trial or jury trial
- The Maze Legal Group
- Michigan's Drunk Driving Laws
- Driver License Sanctions and License Reinstatement
- Drunk Driving Defenses
- Field Sobriety Tests
- Breath and Blood Testing
- Michigan's Courts Enforcing Drunk Driving Laws
- Michigan Police Departments Directory
- Resources and DUI Attorney Directory
- DUI DWI Defense Videos
- News and Updates from the Maze Legal Group
How Much Does An Attorney Cost?
Some attorneys charge a flat rate for representation in drunk driving cases. Others charge an hourly fee against a retainer. Both arraignments are acceptable, but a flat rate usually indicates that the attorney expects to enter into a plea agreement unless an additional fee for trial is agreed upon in advance.
A particular attorney's fee depends upon the skill and experience of that attorney and how much time the attorney expects to spend on your case. A low fee may indicate that the attorney intends to do little on a case, but a high fee does not necessarily indicate that the attorney will spend much time on your case. Many attorneys charge an exorbitant fee to do little on case.
It is important to discuss with an attorney what the attorney is going to do in the case before retaining that attorney. Is there a plan or a strategy? If there isn't, you might be hiring an attorney that intends to plead you guilty.
Frequently, people make dozens of calls to several attorneys, inquiring about the particular attorney's fee. That may be a good starting point, but keep in mind that you are not looking for a bargain. If you are looking for a bargain, the easiest way to avoid attorney fees is handling the case on your own. But be forewarned -- many states are now adopting television advertisement campaigns designed to discourage people accused of drunk driving from getting attorneys! You can only guess why states might spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to discourage you from getting proper legal representation.
On a first offense for drunk driving, an attorney will charge anywhere from $500 to $10,000, depending upon the skill, experience and the amount of time anticipated on the case. One of the most important considerations is what you want the attorney to do. Do you want to get the best plea bargain possible? Do you want to have the attorney try to get the charges dismissed? Do you want a trial? Can you afford expert witnesses?
On a repeat offense for OWI 2nd there may be an increased fee because the attorney will anticipate spending more time on the matter. On a third offense, many attorneys will charge $5,000 to $15,000 or more because the process and procedure is entirely different and the consequences far more serious.