First Time Offense: Michigan DUI

Printer friendly page of this article.

If you are charged with a first time Michigan DUI crime, here is a brief summary of what you face:

1st Offense to Operating While Intoxicated (Michigan's DUI statute)

--30 days suspended license/150 days restricted license (automatic), plus $125 reinstatement fee
--Up to 93 days in jail
--Fines of at least $100 up to $500, plus court costs
--Probation up to 2 years
--Up to 360 hours community service
--$1,000.00 "driver responsibility fee" to secretary of state for two years

1st Offense to Operating While Visibly Impaired (The so-called lesser included offense to a Michigan DUI)

--90 days restricted license (automatic)
--Up to 93 days in jail
--Fines of up to $300, plus court costs
--Probation up to 2 years
--Up to 360 hours community service
--$500.00 "driver responsibility fee" to secretary of state for two years

First time Michigan DUI offenders will want to review our articles:

Michigan drunk driving: frequently asked questions

Should I accept an impaired?, and

The drunk driving court process and procedure.

After reviewing those articles, please make sure to review Drunk driving defenses and Do I need an attorney?

Videos designed for first time offenders are available on-line at our other site, Michigan-Drunk-Driving.com, providing a fifteen minute presentation on first time DUI offender laws.

Google