- Michigan's Drunk Driving Laws
- Michigan's new 0.08 law
- First time offense Michigan DUI
- OWI 2nd offense
- OWI 3rd offense
- Felony drunk driving
- The drunk driving statute: MCL 257.625
- OUIL, OWI, DUI, DWI, OUIN, and OWVI?
- Operating with the presence of controlled substance
- Michigan's child endangerment law
- Michigan's zero tolerance law
- Michigan drunk driving: frequently asked questions
- The Maze Legal Group
- Driver License Sanctions
- Michigan Drunk Driving Procedure
- Drunk Driving Defenses
- Field Sobriety Tests
- Breath and Blood Testing
- Michigan's Courts Enforcing Drunk Driving Laws
- Michigan Police Departments Directory
- Other Drunk Driving Resources
- OWI Defense Law Forum
Michigan's Child Endangerment Law
A person who drives while intoxicated, impaired, or with the presence of any amount of a controlled substance is guilty of "child endangerment" if a child under the age of 16 years of age is a passenger in the vehicle.
A first offense for child endangerment is a misdemeanor. Fines are $200.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and:
5 days to 1 year imprisonment with not less than 48 hours of this imprisonment served consecutively, and/or, community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.
A second offense of "child endangerment" within 7 years or three within 10 years is a felony. Fines are $500.00 to $5,000.00 plus court costs and:
12 to 60 months imprisonment with the department of corrections and 30 days to one year with community service.
Probation with imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than 1 year and community service for not less than 60 days or more than 180 days.
Zero tolerance and child endangerment (e.g. a driver under the age of 21 with any amount of alcohol driving a sibling or friend under the age of 16):
First Offense: 60 days community service OR $500.00 OR up to 93 days imprisonment.
Second offense for zero tolerance and child endangerment: Fines of $200.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs, and five days to 1 year incarceration, with at least 48 hours consecutive imprisonment OR 30 to 90 days community service.
Call us toll free at (888) 941-1122 or (888) OWI-Atty
24hr assistance available at (734) 740-1900