- Michigan's Drunk Driving Laws
- Michigan drunk driving
- Law on Michigan drunk driving
- First time offense Michigan DUI
- Michigan's new 0.08 law
- Michigan's new driver license responsibility fee
- Michigan drunk driving: frequently asked questions
- The drunk driving statute: MCL 257.625
- OUIL, OWI, DUI, DWI, OUIN, and OWVI?
- OWI 2nd offense
- OWI 3rd offense
- Felony drunk driving
- License sanctions for drunk driving
- License suspension for drunk driving
- Driving while license suspended DWLS
- Driving on a suspended license
- Operating with the presence of controlled substance
- Michigan's child endangerment law
- Michigan's zero tolerance law
- Field sobriety tests
- Preliminary breath test
- The Datamaster breathalyzer
- Breath and blood Tests
- Michigan Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys
- Do I need an attorney?
- What to look for in an attorney
- How much does an attorney charge for drunk driving?
- Michigan-drunk- driving.com
- Attorney William J. Maze
- Attorney Steven N. Gotler
- Michigan Drunk Driving Procedure
- Drunk driving defenses
- The drunk driving court process and procedure
- I didn't get a ticket. What now?
- Should I accept an impaired?
- An overview of probation: the consequences of a plea
- What is "discovery" in drunk driving cases?
- Drunk driving: Bench trial or jury trial
- Michigan's Courts Enforcing Drunk Driving Laws
- Michigan courts handling drunk driving cases
- What to expect in an Oakland county drunk driving case
- What to expect in an Macomb County drunk driving case
- What to expect in a Monroe County drunk driving case
- What to expect in a Wayne County drunk driving case
- What to expect in a Washtenaw county drunk driving case
- Other Resources
- Michigan Police Departments
- Michigan Secretary of State
- Michigan Department of State Police
- DLAD: Driver's License Appeal Division
- National College For DUI Defense, Inc.
- Links and Other DUI Resources
Felony Drunk Driving
In addition to the felony charge of a 3rd offense, Michigan's drunk driving law makes it a felony to be involved in an accident causing death or "serious impairment" of another while intoxicated, impaired, or with the presence of any amount of a controlled substance.
The drunk driving statute makes it a 15 year felony for causing the death of a person, and it is a 20 year felony for causing the death of a police officer, firefighter or other emergency response personnel.
It is a five year felony for causing "serious impairment" of a body function of another person.
Interestingly, under the new revisions to the drunk driving laws in September 2004, impaired driving is no longer strictly defined by a certain blood alcohol measurement. Similarly, the "any amount of a controlled substance" does not, on its face, require a certain amount of controlled substance to be present. Under circumstances where someone is injured or killed, both of these provisions are questionable, since the level of impairment and relationship of a controlled substance's presence might be completely unrelated to the cause of the accident. As an example, a person might have had a single alcoholic beverage or smoked marijuana days prior to an accident caused by the other driver running a red light. The other driver having died in the accident, an investigation reveals a small presence of either alcohol or a controlled substance. Without any doubt that the accident was completely unavoidable and caused by the decedent, the surviving driver might still be charged with an extremely serious felony.
Call us toll free at (888) 941-1122
24hr assistance available at (734) 740-1900