License Sanctions for Drunk Driving Convictions and Michigan License Restoration
How to get your driver's license back after a drunk driving conviction!
FIRST TIME OFFENDERS
First time offenders risk losing their license for 30 days, with an additional 150 days restricted driving privileges. If a plea to impaired driving is agreed upon with the prosecutor, the driver's license is not suspended at all, but it is restricted for 90 days. This is a "carrot and stick" approach used by the State of Michigan to convince first time offenders to plead guilty to impaired, which qualifies as a drunk driving conviction. If a motorist receives a suspension for a drunk driving conviction, a reinstatement fee is required, but there are no difficult steps to reinstating driving privileges.
BREATH AND BLOOD TEST REFUSALS
If a driver refuses to take a Datamaster breath test (not the PBT, but the breath test at the police station) or a request to submit to blood or urine testing, the driver has 14 days to challenge an automatic suspension that lasts for one year. A second refusal within seven years results in a two year suspension. The Maze Legal Group frequently represents drivers accused of refusing a chemical test, and we win a much larger number of these cases than other law firms because of our specialized knowledge in breath testing. If a driver loses at the "implied consent" hearing, as it is known, a hardship appeal may be filed in the circuit court to permit restricted driving privileges.
REPEAT OFFENDERS AND LICENSE REVOCATION
Repeat offenders face license revocation upon conviction. Two drunk driving convictions within 7 years results in a one year revocation, and a second revocation results in a five year revocation. The courts are no longer permitted to grant restricted licenses based upon any personal hardship that might be suffered in these cases. A person whose license is revoked must request reinstatement through the DLAD (Driver's License Appeal Division) after they have reached their eligibility date. To satisfy the DLAD, a person must provide a positive alcohol evaluation, and they must show that they have a) stopped using alcohol, b) successfully completed alcohol therapy, c) regularly attend a support group such as Alcoholics Anonymous, d) produce letters from family and friends showing a change in lifestyle and impact from being alcohol-free, and e) show a reason and need to drive.
The Maze Legal Group focuses on defending motorists accused of drunk driving. It's our goal to win by successfully defending DUI cases to avoid the harsh ramifications of license revocation, so our firm does not focus on license restoration. As a result, we have sought out the most qualified law firm in the State of Michigan to better assist clients who are seeking to restore their driving privileges. At this time, we are pleased to have located a firm that has been able to successfully fulfill our goals, and to date every single one of our clients has received their driver's license on their first application to the DLAD. If you are looking for the best license restoration lawyers in Michigan, we will refer you to the attorney that our firm uses after we have pre-qualified you through a brief interview process. If you would like to see if you are eligible to get your license restored, call our office at (888) 941-1122.
DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE
Driving on a suspended or revoked license (DWLS) or proof of driving on a suspended or revoked license (such as an abstracted ticket for "no operator's permit on person") will results in an additional term of suspension being added to the suspension period. Thus, the eligibility date is extended farther out by the Secretary of State upon conviction or proof of DWLS unless your lawyer can successfully defend the charges or reduce a traffic ticket to a matter that is not abstracted to the Secretary of State.
More information that you need to know: